Top Ten Best Books of 2016

top ten.png

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Is it just me or was 2016 a really great year for the book world?! I feel like we had amazing new releases coming at us left, right and centre!

The list is sorted by publication date because I am trash and didn’t want to have to order them. It was hard enough having to choose my favourite releases, it’s like choosing your favourite child 😭


26211610Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar

Published: 1 February

If you’ve been around long enough, you’ve heard me rave on and on and ON about this book. I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH. I want it tattooed on my body. If you haven’t already heard of Summer Skin, it’s a great take on important social issues such as rape culture and slut shaming but the feminism isn’t too in your face.

Read my review.


25698127Yellow by Megan Jacobson

Published: 1 February

A beautifully written debut that focuses on the struggles faced by teenagers of low socio-economic families. I loved how incredibly real the story was.

Oh and did I mention the strange supernatural focus? Obviously that wasn’t realistic but it added an interesting twist to the story.

Read my review.


25574212The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis

Published: 29 February

Three very different teenage boys with nothing in common except for one friend. I love the way that the story is told. The book has no chapters. Instead it’s split into thirds, each one telling the perspective of the three boys.

Read my review.


27193294Frankie by Shivaun Plozza

Published: 23 March

Frankie tells the story of angry teenager Frankie who’s been dealt a rough hand in life. But she won’t let you feel sorry for her. It’s a family focused story with Frankie looking for her missing brother when it seems like no one else cares. Heck yes for bad ass teenage girls standing by their beliefs.

Read my review.


26891896The Things I Didn’t Say by Kylie Fornasier

Published: 2 May

Fornasier gives the “new girl meets popular boy” trope a different twist. She also gives the reader a genuine and realistic insight into anxiety.

Read my review.

 


17927395A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Published: 3 May

I only started the series this year and while ACOTAR was somewhat of a let down for me in Sarah J. Maas standards, ACOMAF really brought it back. The things that I didn’t like in ACOTAR where acknowledged or fixed in this book.

Oh and let’s not forget that it’s been announced that ACOTAR will be a SEVEN book series. Talk about insanity. As if ACOMAF wasn’t intense enough.

Read my review.


17838528The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Published: 3 May

What’s not to love about dogs on a cover?! And more dogs in the pages?! If only the book came with actual dogs 😭 Okay, all joking aside, (but am I really joking? The answer is no, no I’m not), there’s a great focus on friendship and relationships with parents. I keep saying it but we don’t see enough of daughter/father relationships in books or just pop culture in general.

Read my review.


30969076Nevernight Jay Kristoff

Published: 25 July

Yoooooooo, this book was everything I could’ve asked for and more. There was so much hype leading up to its release, and I know for some people it was a miss but I absolutely loved Nevernight. I’ll admit it was a little difficult to get into at first but once I got used to the style it was SO DAMN GOOD.

Read my review.


28260587Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Published: September 6 by Bloomsbury

EoS was one of my most anticipated books of this year and with good reason. Action! Adventure! Steeeamy romance 😏 What more could you ask for?!

Maas has really raised the stakes with this one and I’m excited to see where she’s taking the series.

Read my review.


29364863Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Published: 18 October

Ahhhhh the most high of highly anticipated book of 2016! And boy did it live up to the expectations! I don’t even know how to nicely wrap up my feelings for this book except that IT WAS AH-MAY-ZING! Amie and Jay really delivered and lived up to the standard that they had set with Illuminae. I don’t know how they did it BUT THEY DID.

Read my review.


Honourable mention

23308084The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

Let’s start this from the beginning: I was reeeally excited for The Wrath & the Dawn but was pretty disappointed with it. And then The Rose & the Dagger came around and it really saved the series for me. I much preferred it to the first book. There was so much more of the magic I was expecting in The Wrath & the Dawn and SO MUCH CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT.

Read my review.


What were some of your favourite 2016 releases?


Happy reading,

viv-final

Bloglovin’ / Goodreads / Instagram / Tumblr / Twitter

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Best Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

