Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

reviews

24612656 BOOK REVIEW: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)
by Maggie Stiefvater
Publication date: 29 December 2015
Publisher: Scholastic Press

Goodreads:Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.

Mothers can disappear.

Visions can mislead.

Certainties can unravel.

In a starred review, The Bulletin called The Dream Thieves, the previous book in The Raven Cycle, “a complex web of magical intrigue and heart-stopping action.” Now, with Blue Lily, Lily Blue, the web becomes even more complex, snaring readers at every turn.


I’m going to start by saying that I wish this was a better review but I’m actually writing this about a month after I finished the book. Basically, I thought I’d written a review but apparently not. I also forgot to make notes as I was reading so this is purely based off memory. Let’s get into it.

I really liked the pacing of Blue Lily. I feel like it picked up a lot more than the previous two books but at the same time it wasn’t rushed in any way. I couldn’t put the book down because I just needed to know what was going to happen next. This was where we really start to see the magic and paranormal elements come into play. In Blue Lily we start getting answers to some of the questions being put forth in The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves.

I am just absolutely in love with all the characters. Stiefvater’s writing and character building is just spot on. There isn’t a single character you can hate (unless you’re supposed to). Even the new characters that were introduced in this novel were amazing.

A huge factor for my love of The Raven Cycle is the friendship. I feel like friendship, particularly platonic male/female friendships, is something that isn’t explored very much in books and Stiefvater and just hits the nail on the head with TRC. Blue and the Raven Boys all love each other so much and would do anything for each other. They’re the kind of friends who would drop whatever they were doing if one of them needed help.

If you’re reading this review then hopefully you’ve read the previous two books. If you have then you would know that one of the plot lines is that Blue and Gansey can’t be together and you know the reason for this. IT IS SO FRUSTRATING. I just want Blue and Gansey to be together and be happy forever, or at least for the time being because they’re only teenagers and still figuring themselves out. Anyway, as I was saying, the chemistry between Blue and Gansey is just so real and so believable and I can’t remember the last time I shipped a canon pairing so hard. And that’s my little fangirl moment over. I try to keep it semi-professional around here. Adam x Ronan until the day I die.

Blue Lily, Lily Blue is my favourite book in the series so far and hopefully I can get a copy of The Raven King soon because my gosh do I need to know how it all ends. I’ve somehow managed to avoid spoilers even though it came out over a month ago and I’m really proud of myself for that.

Also, for anyone interested, I don’t have reviews for The Raven Boys or The Dream Thieves because I read them both before starting this blog but I gave them both 4 stars.

Rating: ★★★★★
Buy it from: Book DepositoryBooktopia

4 thoughts on “Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Leave a Reply

