Unboxing: The YA Chronicles Volume 9, May 2016

The YA Chronicles (bookmark + card listing the items)

The YA Chronicles is an Australian book subscription box. Each month they release a themed box with a book along with 2-5 items that fit that month’s theme.

This month’s theme was Summer Daze, Driftin Away which is pretty perfect because we’re just about to hit Winter in Australia so why not pretend it’s Summer with an appropriately themed box of goodies.

I ordered this month’s box on a whim. Some might say it was a bit of an impulse buy. I figured hey, it’s my birthday month and therefore I should treat myself. This was my second time ordering a The YA Chronicles box. I loved the first box I got in February. The theme was Rebel With a Cause. You can see a photo of all the goodies from that box below.

 

Now, onto my first ever unboxing!

I wasn’t going to post this until next week sometime so that I wouldn’t ruin the surprise for anyone who still hasn’t gotten their box yet but I just couldn’t contain my excitement any longer and had to share it with you all! My box came in the mail yesterday morning and because my birthday’s this weekend it’s a nice little early present for myself.

The first thing I noticed was how great the box smelled! That’s probably down to the fact that there was something from Form & Flux who sell candles and an item from AllBody Soaps, who, as you probably guessed, sell soap (an other bath products).

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

After opening up the box and unfolding the wrapping, I could see a part of this month’s book even though the goodies were all piled on top. Let me just tell you, I cheered very loudly when I saw what the book was. I’ve been so excited for The Unexpected Everything and I was going to buy it soon so I’m really happy that it was this month’s book.

What I’ve also noticed is that the books also have a little stamp type thing (I can’t remember the exact word right now argh) that says ‘The YA Chronicles Approved’ which I think is super cute.


Nook & Burrow  –  Form & Flux

Ever since joining the book blogging community on Tumblr in December last year, I’ve been made very aware that book themed candles are an actual thing that I need in my life. Unfortunately, a lot of them are based in America and any Aussie will know that shipping from America will cost you an arm and a leg. I’m not ready to spend $30 on shipping alone for a candle even if it is going to smell like butterbeer.

When I joined Bookstagram, I discovered a little online store called Nook & Burrow (who also runs Form & Flux I believe) and I’ve been eyeing up their candles for awhile now, especially the Fairy Bread candle (besides all the Harry Potter themed ones of course). So knowing that one of their items was going to be included in the box made me really excited. And what do you know, I open up the box and it’s a mini Fairy Bread candle. I can’t wait to light it during the middle of Winter and just be transported back to my childhood.

I know that fairy bread is something that exists in pretty much only Australia so for any non-Australians reading, fairy bread is just a slice of white bread covered in butter then sprinkled with 100’s & 1000’s. Probably not the best thing to eat but it sure seemed like it as a child.


TheWoodsAvenue  –  AllBody Soaps

For the TheWoodsAvenue bookmark you had the chance of getting a sun or ice cream magnetic bookmark. As you can see I got the sun bookmark and isn’t it just adorable? It makes me happy just looking at it.

The bathbomb was provided by AllBody Soaps and there were four possible scents that you could get: grapefruit and lime, seamoss, jasmine or green tea. I got the jasmine scented bathbomb and usually I’m not a fan of jasmine but this bathbomb smells so good. I’ve seen other people’s photos of their May boxes and some of the bath bombs have been crushed during shipping but mine is pretty much unharmed.


I absolutely loved everything that was in this month’s box and I’m so glad that I decided to treat myself.


The June box is on sale now and the theme is Pride Week. I’m hoping to get one and you guys should definitely consider it.

A one month subscription to The YA Chronicles is only $29.99AUD (I know for a fact that it works out really cheap if you’re in America and the UK). Shipping within Australia and to New Zealand is only $9.99AUD (and I’m pretty sure it’s overnight shipping depending on where you are in Australia so there’s a chance you’ll get it the day after it’s posted!). International shipping is $24.99AUD so again, it’s pretty cheap depending on where you’re from. You can also head to their website for 3 and 6 month subscriptions.

7 thoughts on “Unboxing: The YA Chronicles Volume 9, May 2016

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I really need to get on this box! I’m definitely interested in the Pride Week theme so I think I’m definitely gonna order one. I’m glad you decided to treat yo self!!! Also oh my god, I’m SO HAPPY those Australian based candle stores exist. I would get so sad seeing how expensive the US ones were. Although this is really bad because there goes all my money 😂 Fairy Bread is THE BEST I NEED THAT CANDLE. I’m also really happy that book was The Unexpected Everything because I knew how much you wanted to read it 😀

    Like

    • Vivian @ Inked In Pages says:

      Do it!!! There are 10% off codes floating around now too so there’s even more reason to do it. If you go to the Nook & Burrow webstore they’re actually cheaper than getting them from the Form & Flux Etsy store! And ahahaha yes! I’ve never been so excited about getting a book before

      Like

  2. happycomesfirst says:

    I was thinking of ordering this box but I was kinda broke 😂 I had a feeling Unexpected Everything would be the book! VIVIAN I DIDN’T KNOW YOU WERE AUSTRALIAN TOO!!!! Btw Little Book Owl had a discount code for YA Chronicles if you want to order again – it’s LittleBookOwl10 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

