Review: Ruin and Rising

reviews

21341548

BOOK REVIEW: Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3)
by Leigh Bardugo
Publication date: 11 June 2015
Publisher: Indigo

Shadow and Bone | Siege and Storm

Goodreads: The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.


I both enjoyed Ruin and Rising and found it difficult to read at times. It just didn’t hold my attention. I’d get bored after reading for 15 minutes. It wasn’t Bardugo’s writing. Her writing has gotten better with every book. But the plot just wasn’t working for me. Some things were really predictable.

As with Siege and Storm, I loved all the new characters, as well as the returning side characters from the second book. They’re funny characters. Some are slightly insane, just adding even more to the humour of the book.

It may have just been me but I was confused by the big revelation of the story. I feel like it could’ve been better written or explained a little more. I definitely didn’t see it coming though and I’m usually pretty good at picking up on a plot twist.

The Darkling and Baghra’s backstory is finally revealed to us. However, this doesn’t make up for the fact that The Darkling is the big bad villain of the series and we barely saw him in this book. He’s one of my favourite characters from the series. Despite being ruthless and just downright evil, you sometimes feel bad for the guy. This speaks volumes about Bardugo’s writing.

There was so much potential for a great big ending and it kind of just fizzled out. I liked the ending but it just felt like it could’ve been more. I think I was expecting great things from this book because I found there was such an improvement in Bardugo’s writing from book to book. I’d worked it up to hopefully being a book with an absolutely amazing ending to a series.

Rating: ★★★☆☆
Buy it from: Book DepositoryBooktopia

4 thoughts on “Review: Ruin and Rising

  1. thebigfatf says:

    OMG I NEED TO READ THIS SERIES ASAP.
    WHY HAVEN’T I GOT TO IT YET WHEN I’VE ONLY HEARD FABULOUS THINGS ABOUT IT. Oh yeah, I’m poor.
    Great review!!!! Thanks for reminding me that I NEED to read this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

