Femme Friday Book Tag

femme friday.png

#FemmeFriday

#FemmeFriday was created by Vicky @ Books and Strips and you can learn more about it here. It’s all about highlighting all the wonderful women of the bookish world.

The rules:

  1. Post this tag post on a Friday.
  2. Tag three to five other bloggers (female or male, doesn’t matter).
  3. Post the Tag image with this.
  4. If you’re going to start doing the meme on your blog please link back so there’s a pingback in the comments section for others to check out.

I was tagged by the always lovely Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews.

I’ve been really excited about this post all week and now I finally get to post it!

What’s the ratio of female:male authors in your shelves? You don’t have to give an exact amount, just approximately.

I actually don’t read very many male authors so I’d say maybe 90% of my physical books are female authors.

Do you have any preconceived notions about female authors? E.g.: they only write YA or chicklit?

Not any negative ones. Most of my favourite authors are female. I find that they write some of the best books. I don’t understand why female authors, or any professional/successful females, get a bad rap.

Who’s your favourite female author?

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’m horrible at picking favourites. At the moment though it’s probably Sarah J. Maas and Victoria Aveyard.

Have you ever read a comic or a graphic novel written and illustrated by a woman?

Anyone who knows me knows that the Marvel cinematic universe owns my ass. So I really want to get into comics but there are so many universes I wouldn’t even know where to start. I have been meaning to read Captain Marvel by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson for a few years now though.

Have you read any LGBT books?

I love love LOVED Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. The Song of Achilles tore my heart to shreds. And of course, I can’t forget Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

Have you read a book by a female author of colour?

I love Jenny Han! Her To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before duology is one of my favourites and I quite enjoyed the Summer trilogy. I’m pretty bad at paying attention to authors so it’s possible that I’ve read more female authors of colour than I know.

Have you read any feminist non fiction books?

No! But I really want to read Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie‘s We Should All Be Feminists.

Who is your favourite female character? Someone strong and role model-ish.

I’m gonna do it again and mention Summer Skin by Kirsty Eagar. Jess Gordon is a genuinely funny character who takes no shit. She’s smart and smart mouthed. And she’s a feminist!

Is there a really popular female author that you haven’t read at all?

Colleen Hoover and V.E. Schwab. I want to read both of their works though.

Is there a popular non feminist book that you really enjoyed?

Not any that I can think of. I probably wouldn’t read a book if it had non-feminist views just because that would go against my own values. I did like Pierce Brown’s Red Rising but there were a few elements I wasn’t too keen on that could be interpreted as anti feminist/sexist. I mentioned it in my review which you can read here.

I tag:

(Sorry if you’ve already done it!)

And anyone else who wants to do it!

9 thoughts on “Femme Friday Book Tag

  1. thebigfatf says:

    AH!!! Wonderful post!!
    Thanks so much for the tag!!!
    I’ve just finished reading the Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath which is considered a feminist book and seriously, now I have to read something happier. But Plath’s poems are just superb. They’re depressing but they’re so lyrical you just want to cry. This is definitely an insightful post about the kind of books we read. NICE JOB!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sublimereads says:

    What an interesting tag! I’ve never seen this before: Thank you for tagging us 😀
    And your answer for LGBTQ books… did you happen to read my mind and quote me? 😉
    I can’t wait to do this!
    ~Sarah (and by proxy, Faith)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MyBookJacket says:

    Thank you for doing the tag! This makes me so happy. I’m going to come to you for all my YA female author recommendations! You’ll love Schwab. She’s an absolute favourite of mine. I loved A Darker Shade Of Magic but Vicious was her best so far.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

