The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

secret life tag.png

Thank you to Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews for tagging me to do this. It’s a bit of a different one to other book tags in that it’s more of a personal insight rather than just books.

How long have you been a blogger?

I’m still kinda new to book blogging. I started a booklr in early December of last year but I recently decided I’d try more of a legitimate blogging platform. I’ve been on WordPress for almost three weeks.

At what point do you think you will stop?

Not any time soon hopefully. I’m in my final year of uni though so we’ll have to see how that affects how I often I can blog.

What is the best thing?

Everyone here! I’m pretty shy and quiet in real life and it’s carried over onto the Internet too so I don’t comment or talk to other bloggers very much. But the people I have interacted with have been so friendly and welcoming!

What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?

The worst is feeling like my posts go by unnoticed. But then I remind myself that I’m doing this for myself so it doesn’t matter how well my blog does.

How long does it take to find/create pictures to use?

For my headers I just Google the image, pop it into Photoshop, adjust the colouring if I need to then throw in the appropriate text. It probably takes no more than 20 minutes, 30 if it’s a particularly stubborn photo. For book covers, I’ve been taking my own for review posts or grabbing them off Goodreads for book tags. So all in all it doesn’t take very long at all.

Who’s your book crush?

Jess Gordon from Summer Skin. Yes, I’ve used Summer Skin for three tags in a row now. Can you tell I how much I loved the book yet?

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Oh gosh, so many. I wouldn’t be picky at all. I just want to get into their head and find out all the things.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

I usually blog at home in the morning so my pyjamas. I’m actually typing this one up at uni during a break so I’m in jeans, a t-shirt and Converse which is a pretty standard outfit for me.

How long does it take you to prepare?

It depends on the post. Reviews can take up to an hour because I have usually have to translate “ajskhsalg” into actual words and sentences that make sense. Book tags like this don’t take too long. Wrap ups and hauls are pretty quick too, I just have to link things off.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I mentioned it earlier so I won’t harp on too much. Everyone’s just so friendly. Why can’t the real world be like this?

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

Numbers don’t mean anything. I know we all care about how well our posts do but they really aren’t the be all and end all.

Interact with other bloggers. Comment on their posts. It’s a great way to make friends and expose yourself to new books. It’s definitely something I’m hoping to improve on.

But most importantly, have fun! Post what you want and be genuine about it. If you aren’t enjoying it, it’ll come across in your posts. Blogging will feel like something you have to do rather than something you chose to do.

Who do you tag?

I tag Sarah and Faith @ Sublime Reads. Because I’m still fairly new, I don’t know who’s okay with being tagged for things. If you’re okay with being tagged for things let me know!

 

6 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

Leave a Reply

