Review: The Wrath and the Dawn

new review headerIMG_0908

BOOK REVIEW:  The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

I hate to say it but unfortunately I just didn’t fall in love The Wrath and the Dawn. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good book but it just didn’t sweep me off my feet.

The story was so promising and could’ve been so much. In fact, the story was great. There was just something that was stopping me from loving the book. I think that something may have been the writing. More often than not, the writing was telling us things rather than showing us them. So I didn’t really connect with the book in that sense.

Another contributing factor to my conflicting feelings are Shahrzad. She was just so indecisive through the whole book. I just wanted to punch her.

I would’ve loved to have seen more magic but perhaps that’ll be further explored in the next book (fingers crossed!).

I think the standout of the book for anyone who’s read it is the diversity. It was so refreshing to read a book based solely on POC’s.

I also loved that a glossary was included to help along the way.

All in all, The Wrath and the Dawn was a good read and I’m excited to see where Ahdieh takes us next in The Rose and the Dagger.

 

Rating: ★★★☆☆

Buy it from: Book Depository Booktopia

5 thoughts on “Review: The Wrath and the Dawn

Leave a Reply

