Review: Queen of Shadows

reviewsIMG_0855

BOOK REVIEW: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas

I’m going to try to keep this one short because it’s a mammoth of a book compared to the rest of the series.

I loved everything about Queen of Shadows and don’t think I have a single bad thing to say about it. It was intense from cover to cover and I loved every word of it.

As to be expected from Maas, it was very well written. Much like in Heir of Fire, we’re introduced to new characters and get to experience the story from their perspective. The new characters are fantastic and just add even more to the story.

The witches were probably the highlight of the book for me, with Asterin revealing some of her backstory and Manon facing the greatest character development, questioning the way things are done and especially her grandmother, the Blackbeak Matron. Who knows what they’ll choose to do in the end, who to side with?

Another thing I loved was the relationship between Aelin and Rowan. Even though it’s been established that their relationship is growing into a romantic one, Maas isn’t rushing it, instead letting them develop an emotional bond first before diving into the physical side of their relationship.

I do have one small complaint and that is that there was so much detail (which probably explains the size of the book). It was a lot to take in at times and I had to stop between sections or chapters and even reread some paragraphs as I was going just to make sure I’d taken everything in.

I loved the ending and would be happy for the series to end here but I can’t wait to see where Maas will take us in the next book.

 

Rating: ★★★★★

Buy it from: Book Depository Booktopia

2 thoughts on “Review: Queen of Shadows

Leave a Reply

