Review: Red Queen

reviewsIMG_0666

BOOK REVIEW: Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard

Going into this I didn’t know what to expect, having no expectations as I hadn’t read any reviews at all. I absolutely loved Red Queen, it was highly enjoyable to read and incredibly well written. I honestly could not stop reading it. Every twist, no matter how predictable, had me gasping, even when I had guessed that it would happen.

The Hunger Games meets X-Men with a dash of The Selection.

I’ve seen reviews saying that Red Queen is too similar to too many other YA fantasy/dystopian books but I didn’t find that at all. Or maybe I’ve just been out of the YA fantasy/dystopia game for too long.

This book was one where I was wishing for less romance but it is crucial to the story and just adds to the plot so I can’t deduct points there. Cal or Maven, which prince will it be?

I get the feeling that Red Queen will be a book you either or love or couldn’t care less about but definitely give it a shot.

 

Rating: ★★★★★

Buy it from: Book DepositoryBooktopia

Leave a Reply

