Review: All the Bright Places

reviewsIMG_0592

BOOK REVIEW: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

If I’m going to be completely honest (as I should seeing as this is a review) I found it quite hard to get through All the Bright Places. I was struggling to read even a chapter at a time. That is until about the final quarter of the book. There was a turn in the story and suddenly I couldn’t put the book down, no matter how predictable it was.

However, in saying that, this book didn’t live up to its hype for me. I found it hard to relate to Finch and Violet. The way in which the characters were written make it seem as though the book exists simply to have mentally ill characters.

Guardian calls it “the next The Fault in Our Stars” and I won’t lie, it really could be, there are just so many similarities. And just like TFIOS, it made me sob like a baby. But in my defence, I’m pretty emotional and will cry over just about any sad scenes in a book or movie.

At the end of the day, All the Bright Places isn’t a terrible book but it just isn’t the book for me.

 

Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Buy it from: Book DepositoryBooktopia

One thought on “Review: All the Bright Places

Leave a Reply

